

ADAVB June General Meeting ADAVB Offices Monday 24 June 2024, 18:15

1 Ionady 24 Julio 2024, 10:10

Present: Councillors: Dr Linton Nash

Dr Andrew BarnesDr Carolyn NgDr Mark BowmanDr Devin OngDr David CurnowDr Angelo PacellaDr Katharine Dal SantoDr Conny QianDr Andrew HerediaDr Jason Rerksirathai

A/Prof Neil Hewson Dr Jonathan Teoh
Dr Warren Shinder Dr Emily Pow

Branch Staff: Members:

Ms Ilsa Hampton - CEO Dr Derek Mahony
Mr Peter Logan - Operations Manager Dr Tori Carter

Dr Dilhan Rajasingham

Dr Nathan Phung

Apologies: Dr David Curnow and Dr Devin Ong

1. Welcome and acknowledgement of country

The President welcomed those present to the 2024 June General Meeting and acknowledged the traditional owners of the land on which they met and paid their respects to their Elders, past and present, and the Aboriginal Elders of communities who may have been present.

2. Apologies

Devin Ong and David Curnow's apologies were received and noted.

3. Confirmation of Minutes of June GM 19 June 2023

The minutes of the previous June General meeting were noted.

It was RESOLVED that the meeting minutes of the 2023 June General Meeting be confirmed as a true and accurate record of that meeting.

Moved: Dr Heredia

4. President's Report

The President advised that since the Branch amended the Rules to reduce the quorum for General Meetings, and a major report on the activities of the Branch will be the focus of the Annual Report at the AGM in October, he did not propose to present a traditional President's Report on a range of current and recent activities.

The President welcomed any questions from Members. There were no questions.

5. Election of Branch Council, and Appointment of Finance Risk and Audit Committee Persuant to Rule 43(1)

The President reported that a total of sixteen (16) nominations were received for seventeen (17) positions on the Branch Council. In accordance with Rule 37 (1) the nominations received did not exceed the number of poitions to be filled and have been elected without ballot.

Pursuant to Rule 44(1) of the Branch Constitution the President announced the following members elected to Branch Council:

Dr Andrew Barnes	Dr Linton Nash
Dr Mark Bowman	Dr Carolyn Ng
Dr Tori Carter	Dr Devin Ong
Dr David Curnow	Dr Angelo Pacella
Dr Katharine Dal Santo	Dr Conny Qian
Dr Andrew Heredia	Dr Dilhan Rajasingham
A/Prof Neil Hewson	Dr Jason Rerksirathai
Dr Derek Mahony	Dr Jonathan Teoh

The President welcomed Dilhan, Tori and Derek as new Council members and thanked Dr Emily Pow and Dr Warren Shnider for their service.

He also reported that, pursuant to Rule 43(1) of the Branch Constitution, the following Branch Councillors have been elected as Office Bearers for the forthcoming year:

President Dr Andrew Heredia
Vice President Dr Carolyn Ng

Furthermore, pursuant to Rule 43(2) of the Branch Constitution; Branch Council appointed the following people to the Finance Risk and Audit Committee for 2024/2025 term:

Dr A Pacella - Chair

Dr C Ng - Vice Chair

Dr E Pow

Dr M Bowman

Dr J Rerksirathai

Dr F Wardlaw, and

independent Committee member, Ms S Valkan

6. Recommendation for Election of Honorary Members

The President reported that, at its meeting on 29 April 2024, Branch Council moved that the following people be recommended to the 2024 June General Meeting for election to Honorary Membership.

The President was pleased to report that pursuant to Rule 91, the following proxy votes have been submitted by Members to specify their voting intentions for the following recommendation:

For: 1
Against: 0
Abstain: 0
Invalid: 0

It was RESOLVED that Professor Alastair Sloan be elected to Honorary Membership of the Australian Dental Association Victorian Branch Inc.

Moved: Dr Barnes

The President was pleased to report that pursuant to Rule 91, the following proxy votes have been submitted by Members to specify their voting intentions for the following recommendation:

For: 1
Against: 0
Abstain: 0
Invalid: 0

It was RESOLVED that A/Prof Santosh Tadakamadla be elected to Honorary Membership of the Australian Dental Association Victorian Branch Inc.

Moved: Dr Barnes

The President declared the motion carried and extended the Branch's congratulations to Prof Sloan and A/Prof Tadakamadla.

7. Proposed Constitutional Amendments

The President introduced the proposed constitutional amendments and reported that pursuant to Rule 9 one (1) proxy vote was submitted to specify their voting intentions.

For: 1 Against: 0 Abstain: 0 Invalid: 0

It was RESOLVED that the amendments to the Rules as detailed be adopted.

The President declared the motioned carried, and the amendments to the Rules take effect as soon as the Registrar of Incorporated Associations confirms they are in order.

8. Election of Benevolent Fund Advisory Board

The President reported that a total of four (4) candidates applied for three (3) positions on the Benevolent Fund Advisory Board and an election was conducted. A report from the Returning Officer has been received.

Pursuant to Rule 77(d) the President advised that the following candidates were elected as members for the ensuing two (2) years.

A/Prof John Matthews Dr Ann Goodrich Dr Greg Tilley

9. Other Business

The President reported that no notice of any other business has been received and, in terms of the notice of meeting and the Brance Constitution, no further business can now be considered. The handover ceremony of office to the new President was deferred until later in the evening.

10. Next Meeting

The next scheduled General Meeting of the Branch will be the Annual General Meeting, which will be held in conjunction with the meeting of Council at the Branch Office on 21 October 2024.

11. Closure

There were no other items for discussion and the President declared the meeting closed at 6:36pm