ADAVB Award Recipients

The Australian Dental Association Victorian Branch (ADAVB) awards members and other affiliated persons for their service to the profession and the ADAVB.


The ADAVB Council is calling for nominations for the ADAVB Awards.

These Awards are designed to recognise significant contributions to at least one of the following: Furthering the profession in a particular field of dentistry, the ADA, dentistry as a whole or the community as a whole. A significant contribution could be in public relations, research, involvement with the ADAVB, management, community service (including outside dentistry), dental health promotion, education or clinical advancement.

All past and present members of the ADAVB are eligible for nomination for an ADAVB Award.

Download the nomination form.

Submit the completed form to:
ADAVB Chief Executive Officer
Level 3, 10 Yarra Street, South Yarra, Vic, 3141
(PO Box 9015, South Yarra, Vic, 3141)

Nominations close on 28 February 2021.

Award recipients

Award for distinguished service

2020     A/Prof Nicola Kilpatrick, Dr Jeremy Graham
2019     A/Prof W Bischof, Dr T Cutler, Prof M Woods, A/Prof I Hewson OAM
2017     Dr S Chen, A/Prof J Shand, Dr G Burt
2016     Prof D Manton
2015     Dr M Bowman, Dr R Green, Dr G Morris
2014     Dr J Boucher, Dr C Callahan
2013     Dr E Crawford, Prof E Reynolds AO, Dr D Lawry
2012     E Mourant
2011     Dr S Cottrell, Emeritus Prof L Brearley Messer
2009     Dr D Curnow
2008     A/Prof A Heggie, Dr A Parker OAM, D Wiesenfeld
2007     A/Prof G Quail
2006     Dr G Knight, Dr J Locke
2004     G Pearson
2003     Dr A Burns, Dr M Burns OAM, I Crawford
2002     Dr P Johansen, Dr J Isaacs MBE
2001     Dr D Behrend, Dr D Hurley, Dr R King
2000     Dr G Dickinson, S Hutton OAM, R Story AM RFD
1999     Dr R Cook AM, A/Prof M Tyas AM, A/Prof R Hall OAM
1998     P Rashleigh
1995     Dr A Cattermole
1994     Dr R Milner
1992     E Feiner
1990     Dr V Amerena, Dr D Loader
1989     Dr M Sullivan, Dr W Chalmers
1988     Prof E Storey, Dr L Williams, Dr P Finch
1987     S Jensen
1986     Dr R Gillies
1985     E Valmont 

Dentistry achievement award

2020    Dr Igor Cernavin, Dr Alan Coveney
2017    Mr G Dimitroulis (OMS), Dr M Hall (public dentistry)
2016    A/Prof J Brownbill (service to the Melbourne Dental School in paediatric dentistry), Dr L Wordsworth (long service as a committee chair)
2014    Dr B Creighton (paramedic volunteer work), Dr N Cochrane (service to the ADAVB and Melbourne Dental School), Dr T Collett (ADAVB group activity and overseas volunteer work)
2013    Dr D Bailey (eviDent Foundation), Dr R Bastiaan AM (RFD, military plaques), Prof Mike Morgan (fluoridation)
2012    Dr A Dickinson, Dr R Goldberg OAM and Prof S Tan (special service to dentistry)
2011    Mr G Fowler (life-long commitment to the service of the people of Ballarat and surrounding districts as oral surgeon)
2010    Dr S Orme (ADAVB Clinical Update contributor), Dr D Goldsmith (overseas voluntary service), Dr G Bowell (hospital dentistry)
2009    W Besly (overseas voluntary service), Dr D Whelan (rural public dentistry)
2008    Dr N Hewson (long service on ADAVB Council), Dr S Koshy (public dentistry), Dr T Roseman (community service and management in public health sector)
2007    Dr G Nervo (endodontics: teaching, education, research and clinical advancement)
2005    Dr P Dalgliesh (contribution to the 25th anniversary celebrations of water fluoridation of Melbourne's water supply), Dr P Wong (domiciliary services)
2004    Dr A Lawrence, Dr P Zimet, Dr J Rattray, Dr D Highfield (long service as committee chairs)
2003    Dr B Drysdale (CRO/PC), Dr S Warneke AM (hospital dentistry)
2002    Dr G Dickinson, A/Prof B Levant, Dr C Newbury CBE, Dr G Oakley AM, Prof E Storey ED (fluoridation implementation)
1999    Dr B Feiglin (traumatology conference)
1998    Dr J Robertson AM (overseas voluntary service)